Skip to main menu Skip to main content Skip to footer

María H. Berrocal, MD

Dr. María H. Berrocal is CEO of Drs. Berrocal and Associates in San Juan, Puerto Rico and Associate Professor at the University of Puerto Rico. She received her Medical Degree from the University of Illinois. She completed her ophthalmology training at the University of Puerto Rico where she received the best surgeon award. She completed her surgical and medical retina training at the department of Ophthalmology New York Hospital/Cornell University. She then completed a medical retina fellowship with Dr. J Donald Gass at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute and was a Heed Fellow Awardee.

Her research interests include new techniques in vitreoretinal surgery, with a particular interest in complications of diabetic retinopathy. She has participated in numerous studies of novel treatments for the management of diabetic complications.

She has received the American Academy of Ophthalmology Senior Achievement Award, and American Society of Retinal Specialists Senior Honor Award. She has received the Doctors Choice Award yearly since 2002. Dr. Berrocal has been an invited speaker and visiting surgeon in over 20 countries. She has received the Stanley Chang Lectureship, the J Donald Gass Lectureship, the ARDS Founders Award, Fundadores Lecture SPRV, VBS Keynote Speaker, Bryan Liddy Lecture, Robison B Harley Lecture, the ASRS Founders Award, and the Navas Lectureship. She has authored and co-authored over 180 articles and book chapters. Dr. Berrocal has held numerous positions in philanthropic societies. She has established educational scholarships for cancer survivors, scholarships for university students and has also helped establish a drug rehabilitation center in San Juan.

She has held leadership positions in and is a member of: Pan-American Vitreoretinal Society, Pan-American Ophthalmological Society, Retina Society, American Society of Retinal Specialists (ASRS), American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) and Women in Ophthalmology (WIO). She is past president of the Pan-American Vitreoretinal Society. She is on the editorial board of Retina Today, Retina Physician, Egyptian Journal of Ophthalmology, and is a reviewer for Ophthalmology, OSLI, European Journal of Ophthalmology, Retina and AJO journals among others.